Risky Risotto proved delicious!


I’ve never made risotto. Okay, once in the microwave when I poured it from a box and opened the spice packet–

Creamy & delicious but LOW fat!

cheating! I don’t count it. Honestly, I’ve never really eaten risotto. My mom didn’t make it growing up. I remember my roommate making some delicious mushroom risotto–I watched in horror as she made it with butter and heavy cream. It was delicious.

Tonight when my boyfriend requested risotto to go along with our locally farmed duck with sage and garlic sausage and salad I was at a loss for how to start. Armed with my computer and tastespotting.com (my bible for quality recipe ideas), in 5 minutes I learned the basics of how to create a risotto.

When it was all creamy and delightful (sans the fatty cream and butter) my boyfriend was gushing over its taste and consistency. Here’s the recipe…it’s fool proof!

Creamy lemony risotto (without the fat!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry risotto rice
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning
  • 2 tbsp. plain greek yogurt (0%)
  • 2 oz. gouda cheese (or goat cheese)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 cups water

The shindig:

  1. Boil 4+ cups water in a kettle
  2. Meanwhile in a large saucepan add olive oil, garlic and rice. Cook on medium heat for 5 minutes stirring constantly so rice does not burn. Drizzle lemon juice over rice at the end of 5 minutes.
  3. Add 1 cup of boiling water and all spices, bay leaves and let reduce down. Continue to add 1 cup of water each time letting the rice soak up almost all the moisture. Continue through all 4 cups of water.
  4. Stir constantly!
  5. Once the risotto is simmering from the last cup of water add greek yogurt and cheese. Let melt.
  6. Serve & enjoy!

About foxinsoxza

Just a gal who loves nature, cooking, the flavors of life, art, culture, and whimsical design!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment