Face oil? I’m a fan!


For a long time I thought putting oil on your face was a HUGE no-no. I already have acne which means it’s oily right? Well, maybe not. Some oils actually serve to reduce inflammation, help soothe acne and rosacea as well as hydrate skin without making your glands over produce. I have been using Jojoba oil for awhile now and I like it. I use it as a make up remover, mix it with lotion for an extra shin on my legs when wearing shorts or skirts, and to moisturize my footies at night before bed. I’m not really comfortable slathering it all of my cheeks though.

This is the 100% pure Argan oil I'm purchasing from Spirit Beauty Lounge

In my good bag from a recent order from Spirit Beauty Lounge (my new pure beauty product go-to), I received a sample of Argan oil. I read the directions–“great for reducing redness and acne”–YES YES YES! I tried it one evening instead of my cream moisture. I woke up with glowing happy skin! Now I haven’t used it for an extended period of time so I cannot speak to long term benefits (yet), but I will be purchasing a bottle of this oil and using it every other evening before bed. Only $29!

I did some research on argan oil and this is what I learned: In Morocco it’s called the “Tree of Life” that’s definitely a good thing! It has properties which heal (scars), are anti-inflammatory, sun-protective and disinfectant properties. As well as improve skin metabolism, reduce inflammation and promote excellent moisture retention. Argan is considered an effective anti-aging oil due to properties such as the high levels of vitamin E and skin-softening agents.

This oil can also be ingested and used medicinally however I have not explored that usage and will not address it at this time.

Harvesting the argan seed

About foxinsoxza

Just a gal who loves nature, cooking, the flavors of life, art, culture, and whimsical design!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Face oil? I’m a fan!

  1. Carrie says:

    My aesthetician said Argan oil was way too heavy for skin, and suggested Jojoba (which is closest to the skin’s actual sebum). But I dunno. I like Argan too, but only occasionally (as I found that it did clog my pores eventually). Try Jojoba, too, if you haven’t! You might like it, and it’s great for oil cleansing with, too!

    • foxinsoxza says:

      Hey Carrie,

      The Argan oil really helps my skin whereas the jojoba (my post mentions that I use it for make up remover and body oil) makes my face stay greasy all day. Everyone is different!

Leave a Reply

