Figs are fantastic


 I am not sure why I suddenly have an obsession with figs. They just have this aura about  them–food for fine fanatics and those who appreciate flavors and health. They encompass  health and taste to me. And, they’re beautiful inside! I started by buying dried figs–I love  thinly slicing them and adding them to salads. Or, for some quick energy eat a dried fig  with 1/2 tbsp. of almond or peanut butter–it’s like a PB&J sammy without the carbs!

Then I decided to treat myself. I saw fresh figs at Whole Foods–#gottahaveit! I bought some organic mascarpone and munched on these delectable foods with some trader joe’s graham crackers. O M G…I hate that phrase but it

100% yum

describes my foodgasm very well–DELICIOUS! If you’ve never treated yourself to figs & mascarpone please do. They’re sweet and satisfying.

Figs have a lot of health benefits as well. These include:

  • One of the highest sources of fiber; great for weight control; great as a natural laxative.
  • Rich in potassium; helps regulate blood pressure and body’s electrical signals
  •  Fig leaves have a ton of benefits (cardiovascular, eye protection, cancer fighting, respiratory health) but I’ve never had them so I won’t discuss it.

Next I wanted to make fig jam. So I did–with a very simple recipe. I can’t wait to try a fig jam & almond butter sammy!
Here’s the recipe:

Fig Jam (from Nourish Your Roots)
(Keeps in refrigerator for up to one week) 

About foxinsoxza

Just a gal who loves nature, cooking, the flavors of life, art, culture, and whimsical design!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

